โ† All tools

Privacy comparison

Independent summary of what each vendor states on its own pages (checked 2026-10-15). "Not stated" means we did not find it on the pages we checked, not that the vendor lacks it. Your district's privacy or compliance team decides what's approved.

Never enter student names or identifying info (names, birthdates, ID numbers, school names, diagnoses tied to a person) here or in any AI tool. Use [Student]. ASHA advises de-identifying before using generative AI: ASHA guidance on AI and privacy โ†—. This site stores nothing you type in the generator.
ToolWhat the vendor states (HIPAA / BAA / FERPA / training / retention)
AmbikiHIPAA: not stated; BAA: not stated; FERPA: not stated; COPPA: not stated; model training: not stated; retention: not stated. (The security page returned a 404.)
ChatGPT for Teachers"Anything you share with ChatGPT for Teachers is not used to train our models by default, and the workspace is built to protect student data and help schools meet FERPA requirements." HIPAA: not stated; BAA: not stated; COPPA: not stated; retention: not stated.
ClaudeModel training: "Opt-out" on Free, Pro and Max. Team plan: "No model training on your content by default." HIPAA-ready offering: listed as "No" for Free, Pro and Max. Custom data retention controls: listed as "No" for Free, Pro and Max. BAA: not stated; FERPA: not stated; COPPA: not stated; retention: not stated.
Gemini for EducationHIPAA: not stated; BAA: not stated; FERPA: not stated; COPPA: not stated; model training: not stated; retention: not stated. (The page only calls the tools "secure.")
Goblin ToolsHIPAA: not stated; BAA: not stated; FERPA: not stated; COPPA: not stated; model training: not stated; retention: not stated. (The About page links to a separate privacy policy that was not provided.)
MagicSchoolStates it is "FERPA, COPPA, SOC-2, GDPR, Ed Law 2-D Compliant" and "Common Sense Privacy Certified." Offers customizable Data Privacy Agreements (a custom DPA is listed as an Enterprise feature). Says it has "smart alerts to prevent PII leaks." HIPAA: not stated; BAA: not stated; model training: not stated; retention: not stated.
SaraHIPAA: not stated; BAA: not stated; FERPA: not stated; COPPA: not stated; model training: not stated; retention: not stated. (The privacy page could not be fetched.)
SLPDeskStudent and clinical records are "treated as protected health information (HIPAA) and education records (FERPA)." SLPDesk says it acts as "a business associate / school official under a data processing agreement," and you can request a BAA or DPA by emailing hello@slpdesk.com. It says it does not sell student or clinician data and does not use student data for advertising. Retention: data is kept "for as long as the district or clinic's account is active, or as required by applicable education/health record retention law," and export or deletion is available by email request. COPPA: not stated; model training: not stated.
SpedTreeSpedTree operates as a "school official" under FERPA and says it complies with "FERPA and the updated COPPA rule effective April 22, 2026." A DPA is available on request at privacy@spedtree.com. It says it does not use student education records for "advertising, marketing, commercial profiling, model training." Data is stored in the U.S. on MongoDB Atlas and encrypted with AES-256 at rest and TLS 1.3 in transit. HIPAA: not stated; BAA: not stated; retention: not stated in the provided excerpt.
Speech Blubs ProHIPAA: not stated; BAA: not stated; FERPA: not stated; COPPA: not stated; model training: not stated; retention: not stated. (The privacy page source had no content.)
SpeechPilot"SpeechPilot operates under signed Business Associate Agreements, so you can use it on real student documentation today." The phone install "stores nothing on the device." HIPAA (beyond the BAA statement): not stated; FERPA: not stated; COPPA: not stated; model training: not stated; retention: not stated. (The privacy and pricing pages returned 404.)
TeacherMagicDescribed as "FERPA compliant by design." The vendor says it collects no personal information, has no accounts and runs no servers, and that it never sees, logs or proxies your prompts. Prompt history and an optional profile are stored only on your device. Because it collects no personal information, the vendor says "COPPA's consent and notice obligations do not apply to us as an operator." It will sign a DPA if your district requires one. HIPAA: not stated; BAA: not stated; model training: not stated. Prompts go to the AI provider you select, and the source does not describe that provider's data handling.
WeSLP"Built for HIPAA- and FERPA-conscious workflows." The vendor states it does not guarantee compliance. BAA: not stated; COPPA: not stated; model training: not stated; retention: not stated. (The privacy page returned a 404.)
LAMP Words for LifeThe vendor says its AI features "run on the device without Wi-Fi." HIPAA: not stated; BAA: not stated; FERPA: not stated; COPPA: not stated; retention: not stated.

The SLPPrompts Weekly

One short email with new therapy prompts, goal templates and AI tools for school SLPs. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.